Review of C.K. Martin’s “Yesterday”

THEN: The formation of the UNA, the high threat of eco-terrorism, the mammoth rates of unemployment and subsequent escape into a world of virtual reality are things any student can read about in their 21st century textbooks and part of the normal background noise to Freya Kallas’s life. Until that world starts to crumble.

 NOW: It’s 1985. Freya Kallas has just moved across the world and into a new life. On the outside, she fits in at her new high school, but Freya feels nothing but removed. Her mother blames it on the grief over her father’s death, but how does that explain the headaches and why do her memories feel so foggy? When Freya lays eyes on Garren Lowe, she can’t get him out of her head. She’s sure that she knows him, despite his insistence that they’ve never met. As Freya follows her instincts and pushes towards hidden truths, the two of them unveil a strange and dangerous world where their days may be numbered. Unsure who to trust, Freya and Garren go on the run from powerful forces determined to tear them apart and keep them from discovering the truth about their shared pasts (and futures), her visions, and the time and place they really came from. Yesterday will appeal to fans of James Dashner’s The Maze Runner, Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Amy Ryan’s Glow, Laini Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and Ally Condie’s Matched. (Courtesy of Goodreads)

Yesterday is a book I highly recommend. I loved this book. First, I’ll talk about how much I loved the book, then I’ll go over what I didn’t like. I don’t think I’ve ever read a book without not liking at least one thing. This review contains spoilers.

This book is highly based around time travel which I think is really cool. It’s a lot different from most dystopian novels/series I’ve read. Also, THANK GOD this is going to be a series. I heard it might not be, but then was graciously reassured by Martin herself on her website.

I don’t think I’ve ever read a dystopian novel so in depth as Martin has been able to accomplish. I mean, she has set up a whole new world (A NEW FANTASTIC POINT OF VIEW). Everything that happens in the future makes sense. The unemployment rates because of the robots. The terrorism and diseases. She dedicates a whole chapter to explaining all this, and I never was lost. I hate reading books where things that happen in the book just don’t seem probable. I applaud Martin on her research and/or resources. Shoot, I don’t know how she was able to do this. I might shoot her an email, and ask.

I really, really loved the heroine, Freya. She reminded me of Nora, from Hush, Hush, whom I also loved. She has initiative, and gets things done, unlike me. So I was able to look up to and idealize this heroine. She seemed a little crazy at times, though. A little forgiving, and trusting. I feel like she should have questioned things a bit further during the book. Her belief in coming from the future seemed too rushed.

Martin sets up everything up really well in this novel. Everything can be pictured. Nothing really seems off. It’s like this all could potentially happen. It’s a bit scary, honestly. She describes everything in great detail to the point that you feel like you’re actually there. I haven’t been blessed with a book like this one in a while. It was truly refreshing.

Now to the stuff I love. The romance. The most anticipated hero. O.M.G. I love him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! C.K. Martin is genius. Let me tell you something I hate. I hate it when authors will start a book, and IMMEDIATELY introduce the love interest/hero(ine). Where is the anticipation in that? Martin introduces him on page 47 in my book. That’s quite a lot of storyline before we, as readers, are introduced to this hunk of burning love. And thank god we are.

Of course, he’s perfect in looks. Tall. Slender. High cheekbones. Angular face. And of course, I picture him as a Max Irons/Paul Wesley combination. When our heroine first meets him, he’s very stand-offish, probably because she is telling him she knows him due to some sixth sense she gets from his presence. He cusses which I think is kinda hott.

Anyway, eventually plot events throw these two together, and of course they start to feel something for one another, BUT LISTEN. When they first realize this, they are grieving (sorta) and they don’t just kiss…. They get naked and almost have sex. THANK YOU C.K. You are the first of all YA authors to not let your cowardice lead you down an unrealistic road. And jeez, was it hott. I love Garren (that’s his name. how did I mention that already?)! He’s literally perfect. I love their character/relationship development.

There were some things in the book that didn’t make sense like when they were trying to save money, and to pass time they went to the movies. Why? That was just ignorant. I also don’t know why Garren and Freya were sent to the past in the first place. Did I miss something or did Martin just fail to state the reasoning? You can’t just pick a character to base a story around and make stuff happen that doesn’t make sense. Basically, you can’t force it. Some of it seemed a bit forced.

I’ll love the second book, titled Tomorrow if Martin doesn’t introduce another male love interest. I’m not trying to read about a love triangle. It will only frustrate me. Garren and Freya belong together. Don’t try to complicate it.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s